Info: Your browser does not accept cookies. To put products into your cart and purchase them you need to enable cookies.


Michael Houstoun



Best Classical Album, NZ Music Awards, 2008

A household name in New Zealand for over 35 years, Michael Houstoun is especially visible currently as an Arts Foundation Laureate. Featuring evocative, imaginative and accessible repertoire that spans a range of styles, Inland reaches out beyond Michael Houstoun’s historic concert hall audience.

While much of his reputation has been built on traditional piano repertoire, more recently Michael has increasingly performed new New Zealand music – here, notably by John Psathas, Gao Ping, Ken Young, Victoria Kelly and Mike Nock. Michael initiated Inland as a project specifically focusing on contemporary New Zealand solo piano music, and that direction forms the basis of this excellent double CD. His commitment to the best New Zealand art-music repertoire sees our paths increasingly intertwined. Michael’s first outing with Rattle was on John Psathas’ debut Rhythm Spike, and he featured extensively on John’s massively popular View From Olympus.


RAT-D016 (2008)

Production: Ken Young
Recording: Steve Garden

DISC ONE                   

Chaccone  (Douglas Lilburn) 21:56
Questions  (Ken Young) 5:20
Dancing Alone  (Ken Young) 4:10
Remnants  (Ken Young) 5:06
A Time and Place There Was (dedicated to Douglas Lilburn)  (Ken Young) 4:05
Catharsis  (Ken Young) 8:37


Dance Fury  (Gao Ping) 7:22
Landscape Prelude  (Victoria Kelly) 4:16
Jettatura  (John Psathas) 4:48
Presence  (Mike Nock) 5:03
Ringstone Round  (Mike Nock) 3:59
In the Time of Sakura  (Mike Nock) 4:13
Sho’s Cradle Song  (Mike Nock) 1:22
Raff Riff  (Mike Nock) 3:19
Promise  (Mike Nock) 1:24
Beautiful Your Eyes  (Mike Nock) 2:40
Green Cycle  (Mike Nock) 2:01
Serenity  (Mike Nock) 2:46
After Bach  (Mike Nock) 2:28
Cart Wheels  (Mike Nock) 2:57


Ask a question about this CD

You must be a member of and logged in to comment.